Free Bird

It’s 1 a.m. and I’m sitting here in my southern Ohio castle which oddly enough looks more like a casket than a home.  Just kidding.  A casket is much nicer.  I kid again.  But here I am listening to Leonard Skynyrd’s “Free Bird”  and I haven’t had a drop to drink which probably means that it is the perfect time to blog.

So let’s talk about the social unrest in the United States.  No better time than the present.  I won’t bore you with a long analysis of the situation.  I’ll just say a couple of things.  The first thing I want to say is that I don’t want to wish anyone harm but this unabashed, unashamed support for the police in this country is just as disgusting to me as the unabashed and unashamed support of the thugs that are getting killed by the cops.  I see people posting memes like “Cops Lives Matter”.  That might be true but the insinuation is that the life of Eric Garner did not hold the same value.  That is incredibly insulting to me.  I watched the video.  Those cops killed him and that’s the end of the story.  They didn’t even get brought up on charges.  This doesn’t mean that they’re going to prison.  It means that they would go to court to see if they were guilty of killing a man.  He was never even brought up on charges.  Here in southern Ohio we call that the benefits of being a part of the “good ol’ boys” society.

Love-hate.  Hate-love.  As Dr. Greta Pinder-Schloss once said in the Addams Family movies.  What does that have to do with anything.  I’m not entirely sure, but I just think that it’s a terrible thing to have unwavering support for a community or fraternity of people at the expense of another group of people.  It doesn’t matter who the people are.  When you blindly align yourself with a person or group of people regardless of their deeds you’re setting yourself up for a big fall.  Loyalty is good, but blind unquestioning loyalty is what leads sheep to slaughter by the person/people they trusted.  Long story short please stop posting these stupid memes that are so condescending toward people like me just because I don’t think the sun rises and sets because this guy wears a badge.  Also, please stop sending me Facebook game invites which are actually probably more annoying than the memes.  That is all.

Leave a Reply

