Ultimate Desire

I am a cry baby.  I just am.  Anytime something sad comes on television or in a movie I get tear eyed.  It’s no surprise to me that when I feel the Holy Spirit I almost always weep like a baby.  It’s just the way that I am wired.  It is actually very refreshing to have these moments where I come unglued.  It is a spiritual thing that words can’t exactly express what is happening.  It is communion with the Holy Spirit, God Himself.

Tonight I was listening to an old song from the Righteous Brothers, ” Unchained Melody”.  Most people know the song from the movie “Ghost” with Demi Moore and Patrick Swazey.  I was listening to various recommended songs on Youtube when I innocently enough stumbled onto this song.  The first lines of the song hit me right in the spirit.  “Whoa my love, my darling.  I’ve hungered for your touch alone, lonely time.  And time goes by so slowly and time can do so much.  Are you still mine?  I need your love.  I need your love.  God speed your love to me.”  As I was singing along with the lyrics I realized that I was singing this song to God and that’s when I turned into a tear factory.  

I think that this type of intimacy is what God really desires with us.  I posted to my Facebook timeline a video of Ravi Zacharias delivering a sermon about Hosea.  We were given a glimpse in this story of Hosea about how God feels about us.  God wants us to be the apple of his eye.  In that culture being the apple of someone’s eye meant that you stand so close to them that you can see the small reflection of yourself in their gaze.  This demonstrates that we are the total and complete object of God’s desire.  He desires to not just love us but to receive close and intimate feelings with us.

Often times we treat intimacy with God in the same way we would share intimacy with our spouse over the phone or through a text message.  It’s easy to tell someone we love them over the phone or through a text message.  We might genuinely mean it and it’s nice to say we love our spouse or significant other in that way but it is nothing like sharing a moment alone face to face in a moment where you are both completely vulnerable but the restraints of fear and all of the other negative emotions are thrown out the door.  This is God’s desire.

In the new testament, so far as I am aware, God the father speaks only twice.  He might speak elsewhere but I can’t remember.  The point is that he didn’t do it much in the New Testament and when he speaks that little it’s important to listen that much closer.  The first time that God spoke in the new testament was the affirmation of Jesus at his baptism.  The second time was to affirm his children in the 21st chapter of the book of Revelation.  I normally like to talk about the affirmation of God’s children when i talk about this chapter, but it is here in this chapter that I feel like my feelings about emotional intimacy with God are affirmed.  Just check out these verses.

“And I heard a loud voice from heaven saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people. God Himself will be with them and be their God. And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.”

God’s desire is to be close enough to literally wipe the tears from your eyes.  His desire is to be so close that there is no more vulnerability.  All of the negative things are done away with.  In emotional intimacy with God the bonds and the shackles of insecurity and shame are broken and thrown off life a dirty garment.

To end this little spiel I would like to quote the Song of Solomon about the love of God.  “His left hand is under my head, And his right hand embraces me. I charge you, O daughters of Jerusalem, Do not stir up nor awaken love Until it pleases.”

Leave a Reply

