Beating the Living **** Out of A Dead Horse

I agree with you but you’re wrong.

I have been hearing more and more arguments by people who hate the newly signed law in Indiana protecting religious liberty.  The sad thing is that a lot of the arguments that people have against it I tend to agree with.  The problem is that all of these mental juggernauts are missing the most crucial point to the law.  You shouldn’t be allowed to force someone to do something that violates their religious convictions.  A person should be free to make decisions even if those decisions piss people off.

These people keep making this an argument about gay marriage too, which is a real head scratch-er to me since the law covers a whole host of things, not just gay marriage.  For example a satanist can’t walk into a Christian’s printing shop and force him to print posters that say “I love satan”.  The law keeps Jews, Hindus, Muslims, Buddhists, etc. from providing services that are in direct conflict with their religious beliefs.

It doesn’t matter if it’s a public business because a person’s sexual compulsions or their marriage, whether heterosexual or homosexual is not a protected class under the Federal Civil Rights Act.  Do you understand that who you bang and who puts a ring on your finger doesn’t entitle you to coerce them into providing a service to you that would make them feel like they are sinning against God, or whatever religious authority that they get their tenets from?

The sad thing here is that I generally agree with opponents of this legislation with the idea that there is nothing wrong with baking a cake for a gay couple or doing floral arrangements for a gay wedding.  It doesn’t bother me because I am not a weak minded idiot.  I don’t believe that gay marriage is good.  I think it’s definitely against what is clearly the way that God intended.  It goes against what scripture calls a “natural use” for a man and a woman.

But it’s not a sin if I do their flowers.  If God and I both know that it’s not a legit marriage then how am I suddenly responsible for it if I bake them a cake or whatever?  I gotta make a living, and someone is going to take that business if I don’t take it.  It’s not like by providing a service to them that I am giving their association a big thumbs up.

What separates me from the bleeding hearts that are against this law is that they feel sorry for the gays and I don’t.  I don’t care that you don’t like that someone has a problem with your sex life.  I really don’t care how you feel.  What I care about is having the freedom to have an opinion.  I care about the freedom to make choices, even if I don’t agree with the choices people make.

You guys coming up with all of these sarcastic, anti-religious memes are incredibly annoying.  Just because a lot of people agree with you doesn’t make you right.  News flash: most people in the world are not the sharpest knife in the drawer.  So having a coalition of people putting out pseudo-intellectual memes and slogans doesn’t amount to jack ****.  What’s even more annoying is that you don’t have the ability to generate a well thought out, analyzed, response to the situation.  You just keep posting this stupid garbage because it sounds uber-witty and sarcastic; Never once able to get beyond your own worn out bias and faulty logic.

To end this little rant I would like to quote my father from when I was a child.

“They can haul coal in their mouths for all I care so long as they leave me alone.”

You guys do whatever you’re gonna do.  Just leave my freedom to choose alone.

4 thoughts on “Beating the Living **** Out of A Dead Horse

  1. Clare Flourish

    I am going round the blogs, asking people what is the religious basis for refusing service? Jesus associated with sinners. Paul quoted Proverbs: To the contrary, “if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.” Why would anyone not want to serve gay people, but serve atheists and other sinners? What happened to the “We are all sinners” line?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Appalachian Philosopher Post author

      I agree that there is no real reason to deny service to gay people. I just think that it is important to be able to have a choice not to serve someone if that service makes you feel like you’re sinning against God. But I do agree that it doesn’t make sense not to serve them. To me it would be akin to me walking into a restaurant and the owner refusing me service because I’m too chubby and he doesn’t want to aid and abet my sin of gluttony. To me it’s just a little too hyper-religious. But ultimately I am in favor of the freedom to choose to serve rather than coercion and force of service.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Appalachian Philosopher Post author

    I should add that I feel like forcing someone to perform a service that makes them feel like they have sinned against God is akin to mental and spiritual rape. Regardless of whether they are being weak minded or being of weak conscience it is an emotionally damaging thing to make someone do something that they feel at their core isn’t right. Ultimately, it comes down to what you believe that you are entitled to. I have always believed that my talents and skills don’t belong to anyone else but myself. I believe that I own myself and I don’t owe anyone anything. Some people believe that they are entitled to other people’s talents and skills but really they aren’t. They might want access to that person’s talent but just because you covet something doesn’t mean that you can have it.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Indiana law | Clare Flourish

Leave a Reply

