I Miss the 90’s

I was born in the early 80’s but most of my memorable childhood was spent in the 1990’s.  It was, in my biased opinion, one of the greatest decades in American history.  We had a government that worked together, an economy that was strong, fantastic arts such as music and cinema.  The list could go on and on.

When I was young we lived on a hill in the country.  We had a gigantic hickory tree in the front yard of our small house with an old tin roof.  You could see storms blowing in from far off and when they did I would open the front door, grab a blanket and lay there watching through the front porch as the wind bent the trees over.  The lightning would crash and the thunder would boom as I fell asleep there in the doorway listening to the raindrops ping the roof.

One of my favorite movies was “Twister”.  I must have watched it 100 times.  I would watch it and dream about going out west one day and seeing a tornado for myself.  For awhile I would tell the kids on the school bus that I wanted to be a storm chaser one day.  I lost the desire to have a career as a storm chaser but I would still like to do it one time.  But it was more than wanting to chase a tornado.  It was about the simplicity of Midwestern life.  It was lure of wide open spaces and big beautiful skies that made me get lost in euphoria.

twister

My brothers and sisters would go outside and play all day.  We made up some of the most ridiculous, games that are too embarrassing to me now to even mention.  But looking back in retrospect the complexity and originality of the games we played showed a tremendous amount of potential in what we could be in the future.  We played outside until dark and then we would come in and have dinner.  We were poor and we didn’t have much but to be perfectly honest we had some of the best tasting meals a few bucks could buy.  My dad was and still is a tremendous cook.  Mom could cook too, but my dad just seemed to be a culinary master.  Even the most ordinary foods he made them come to life.  Bologna, hot dogs, hamburger, sausages; it didn’t matter.

I spent much of my days on a mission.  The missions varied but there were days were I would be writing a book.  There were days were I would take an old cassette stereo and listen to radio stations for music to record.  I waited with bated breath for the moment a song would come on the radio so I could hit record.  Perhaps those days haven’t left me.  I now have a talent for knowing a song on the radio just by hearing the first note or two.  I also am on a mission daily.  I write screenplays and blogs, and other things because it is still a passion.  I took these things from my childhood.  I love them dearly.

Once a year, during the summer, I would visit my grandparents with my brother and we would stay there for a week.  My Grandpa and Grandma did this with all of their grandchildren and frankly it is an idea that I will use when i have grandchildren if I am around this world that long.  It was like my own little vacation.  We would wake up at 7 a.m. in what can only be described as the most wonderful smelling house in the history of the world.  I floated to the kitchen being pulled in by the smell of pancakes, bacon and sausage.  We washed these babies down with maple syrup and big cold glasses of milk.  After breakfast we would go down to grandpa’s leather shop where he would make me a belt with my name on it.  He recently bestowed his leather shop to me and I have began to make leather belts myself.  It is a truly relaxing and gratifying skill.  We would go to church on Sunday with Grandpa and in the afternoon we went to Lake Logan and ride around on the Pontoon boat fishing.

Hocking-Hills-Marina-at-Lake-Logan1

I remember watching the Hale Bop comet inch through the night sky and staring with awe and wonder.  I remember thinking about what it would be like to be in space and watch it fly by.  It was almost a supernatural experience to me.  It was soon after that I saw on the news where some weird looking guy talked others into committing suicide because they believed they were going to ride the comet away from earth’s destruction.  It turned out to be the Heaven’s Gate cult, but I remember thinking about how could anyone ever get tricked into killing themselves.  Weird.

Hale-Bopp2sm

It was in the late 90’s that I got a sweet dual band cell phone which made me incredibly popular whenever someone needed to make a phone call.  I was making money at 16 years old collecting urine samples from race horses at Scioto Downs racetrack.  What a job.  Hahahaha.  It wasn’t nearly as glorious as it sounds.  But it bought pizza from Stardust pizza and it paid my cellular bill.  Pizza and cell phones are pretty important to a teenage boy.

There are so many things that made the 90’s an incredible time to live in.  Wiindows ’95 anyone?  Watching the Buckeyes basketball on television when they were disgustingly awful and praying for a miracle win.  Sometimes we’d get that win.  I’d savor the victory with a cheeseburger from Rally’s and a strawberry milkshake that mom would buy me on pay day.  Those were the days baby…..those were the days.

If you enjoyed this blog feel free to like, follow, share or re-blog!  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

